Menu Plan Monday – December 14, 2009


Chicken drumsticks were on sale again this week for $.99/lb, so my freezer is full of them! Last week, my daughter surprised me by making BBQs, so we didn’t get a chance to try the Tex Mex Beefy Mac and Cheese or the Turkey Meatloaf (due to the BBQ leftovers). I’m out of ground beef and it hasn’t gone on sale in awhile, so the Tex Mex recipe will have to wait. I’m trying a different turkey meatloaf recipe since I don’t have any onions on hand.

Thanks to allrecipes.com (and occasionally kraftfoods.com), I’m still in the process of cleaning out my freezer and pantry. I just type in what I have on hand and they give me a list of recipes. I realized we have NO frozen veggies, but SIX bags of frozen fruit. My smoothie maker will be getting a workout this week 🙂

Monday
Supper: Chicken drumsticks (still looking for a great recipe for baking drumsticks, suggestions please?), grilled cheese, mixed berry smoothie

* The chicken was a bust! The drumsticks flew off the pan before I even got them out of the oven. They smelled good and looked awesome, but I don’t trust that my oven is clean enough to eat out of 🙂 Mac ‘n cheese and mixed berry smoothie. We’ll have to drink a protein shake before bedtime in order to get our ‘meat’ for the day.

Tuesday
Supper: Winter Blossom’s Often Requested Ham Salad, veggie soup, peach and mango smoothie

Wednesday
Supper: Incredibly Cheesy Turkey Meatloaf, mashed potatoes, green beans

Thursday
Supper: Country Fried Chicken, mac ‘n cheese, mixed berry smoothie

Friday
Supper: Leftovers

Saturday
Supper: Vegetarian Pasta, garlic cheese toast

Sunday
Supper: Chicken drumsticks, leftover Vegetarian Pasta

4 responses to this post.

  1. We’re working on clearing stuff out of our freezer too! It seems that every time I make any progress, SOMETHING goes on sale and I can’t resist stocking up. . .

    A thought . . . what if you tried some favorite chicken finger recipes for your drumsticks, and just baked them longer? My brother did that a while back with a breading that I usually use for tenders, and he said it worked nicely.

    Reply

  2. You have a terrific menu planned.

    Reply

  3. Posted by Colleen P. on December 15, 2009 at 2:40 am

    I make chicken tenders with this mixture but it would easily work for whole chicken parts, I’m sure.

    Soak your chicken pieces in buttermilk for half an hour or more if you like, then dredge in a mixture of equal parts parmesan cheese (the kind in the shaker can) and Italian seasoned bread crumbs. Place in a baking pan well oiled with olive oil, and brush or drizzle more olive oil on top, being careful not to dislodge your crumb coating. You may have to turn the chicken a few times to cook all the sides. I cook the tenders at 400 for about 15-20 minutes (thicker ones take longer, of course) and flip them over, then cook for an additional 5-10 to get all sides browned evenly, drumsticks might take longer.

    I would suggest removing the skin as much as possible-the chicken will still be nice and moist.

    Reply

    • Posted by simplykerri on December 15, 2009 at 3:23 am

      Thanks for the buttermilk tip. We usually make chicken nuggets with Parmesan and Italian seasoned breadcrumbs, but we’ve never used buttermilk. I’ll try that on our chicken drummies on Sunday.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

